Skip to main content

Upgrading of various Roads in Meru County

HE President William Ruto PhD. today launched the upgrading to Bitumen standards of the  A2 Kwa Mumero-Kithinthina Primary-Junction,

A2 Timau-Rugirando-Nguishi-Junction, A2 Mia Moja/Junction, A2 Makutano-Xlewa-Mbuju-Ngare Dare Roads in Meru County.

The 43.2km road falls within Meru  County, with the larger section of the road located on the foothills of Mount Kenya within and around Timau Town in Buuri Constituency.

The road has tbree (3) links, namely; Junction A2 Kwa Mumero-Kithinthina Primary -Junction A2 Mia Moja (11.5 Km), Junction A2 Timau-Rugirando-Ngusishi Junction A2 (16.2Km) and Junction A2 Makutano-X Lewa-Mbuju-Ngare Dare (15.5 Km).

The road project will be implemented  by the Kenya Rural Roads Authority (KeRRA) at a cost of  Ksh.1.7 Billion  and is expected to be completed within 30 months.

The project was awarded to Guangxi Hydroelectric Construction Bureau K Limited  who will also undertake performance based routine maintenance of the road for a period of 36 months after completion of the project.

The various link roads that comprise this project will serve to open up the region and allow convenient movement of farm produce to the markets in the surrounding towns. The road will serve to link the various marker centres such as Kithithina, Rugirando, Kiambogo and Ngusishi to the A2 highway from Nanyuki to Meru and improve delivery  of servoces to these areas.

The project road further improves access to various social and educational amenities such as churches, schools and health facilities.

Present was the Deputy President HE. Rigathi Gachagua, Meru Governor HE. Kawira Mwangaza, Meru Senator Kathuri Murungi, Buuri MP  Hon. Mugambi Rindikiri, Roads Principal Secretary Eng.Joseph Mbugua, the Chairman of KeRRA board of Management Prof. Oyuko Mbeche and Director General Eng. Philemon Kandie.