The State Department of Transport (SDoT) is one of the five functional State Departments under the Ministry of Transport, Infrastructure, Housing, Urban Development and Public Work. The Revised Executive Order No.2 of 2018 on Organization of the Government of the Republic of Kenya outlines the functions of the SDoT as below:-

  1. Transport policy management
  2. Rail transport and infrastructure management
  3. Fast tracking identified Northern Corridor Integration Porjects
  4. Oversight and Coordination of Lamu South Sudan Ethiopia Transit Corridor (LAPSSET) Programme Implementation Programme
  5. Civil Aviation Management and Training
  6. Maritime Transport Management
  7. Registration & Insurance of Motor Vehicles
  8. Motor Vehicles Inspection
  9. National Transport and Safety
  10. National Road Safety Management
  11. National Roads Development Policy Management
  12. Mechanical and transport services
  13. Enforcement of Axle load control
  14. Development and Maintenance of Airstrips

State Departments

Contact Us

Ministry of Roads and Transport

Transcom House
Ngong road

P.o Box 52692 - 00200
Nairobi, Kenya
Tel: +254-020-2729200
Mob: +254 708 286221/2/3
Fax: +254-020-2730330

Visitor Counter

    © 2023 State Department of Transport